Read Before You Eat!
This is a reminder that you must read the entire label before serving a food to your child with food allergies.
- Foods regulated by the FDA are only required to list top 8 food allergens in plain English somewhere in the ingredient label. (Top 8 = milk, egg, soy, wheat, peanut, tree nut, fish, crustacean shellfish)
- They are not required to bold the allergen. You must read the entire label to look for allergens.
- Highly refined oils are not required to be treated as an allergen.
- Sodium caseinate (a milk derivative) is not considered as dairy by the FDA, so foods can be labeled as "Dairy-Free" or "Non-Dairy" yet contain this milk item.
This product contains peanut oil, but doesn't bold or list peanut in the allergen information because peanut oil is not required to be listed as an allergen.
If you need to avoid peanut oil, be sure to read labels completely.
This product is labeled as dairy-free on the front, but contains a milk derivative in the ingredients. Milk is not bolded as an allergen (even though soy is bolded).
This product will be changing its label after one of our members contacted the company.
Some other examples that highlight the need to read a label EVERY TIME for EVERY PRODUCT. Allergens can be found in unexpected places, so don't assume something will be safe for you!:
- Jolly Time 94% Fat Free Healthy Pop Butter Flavor contains egg (in addition to milk and soy).
- Trader Joe's Himalayan Pink Salt Crystals are made on equipment shared with wheat and soy.
- Giant's store brand of olive oil cooking spray contains soy and may contain milk and wheat.
For more information on how to read labels for food allergy, visit KFA's Resources. We have several articles, printable cards and more on label reading and product safety.