OTTAWA, July 26, 2012 - The Canadian Food Inspection Agency (CFIA) and Montreal Kosher are warning people with allergies to egg not to consume the Montreal Kosher products described below. The affected products contain egg which is not declared on the labels.
All lot codes of the following Montreal Kosher brand products are affected by this alert:
|Potato Knish||283 g||068342006715|
|Potato Knish||454 g||068342007019|
These products have been distributed in Quebec and Ontario.
There has been one reported reaction associated with the consumption of these products.
Consumption of these products may cause a serious or life-threatening reaction in persons with allergies to egg.
The manufacturer, Montreal Kosher, Montreal, QC, is voluntarily recalling the affected products from the marketplace. The CFIA is monitoring the effectiveness of the recall.
For more information, consumers and industry can call one of the following numbers:
Montreal Kosher at 514-739-3651;
CFIA at 1-800-442-2342 / TTY 1-800-465-7735 (8:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. Eastern time, Monday to Friday).