Skip to main content

General Mills issues voluntary Class I recall of Cheerios and Honey Nut Cheerios cereal produced at its Lodi, California location on certain dates

General Mills is voluntarily recalling several days of production of Cheerios and Honey Nut Cheerios cereal produced at its Lodi, California facility on certain dates in July of this year because of an undeclared allergen – wheat – with potential adverse health effects. Because this recall relates to an undeclared allergen, this is a Class I product recall.

 

Cheerios and Honey Nut Cheerios produced on these dates at the company’s Lodi, California facility are being recalled because an isolated incident resulted in wheat flour being inadvertently introduced into the gluten free oat flour system at its Lodi facility. As a result, the products may contain an undeclared allergen – wheat – in products labeled as gluten-free.

 

General Mills will recall and retrieve affected cereals produced on those dates from customer warehouses and store shelves. Consumers with wheat allergies, celiac disease or gluten intolerance should not consume products bearing the affected code dates and should contact General Mills for a replacement or full refund. 

 

This voluntary recall includes four days production of original (yellow box) Cheerios, and thirteen days of production of Honey Nut Cheerios at its Lodi, California facility with the following “BETTER IF USED BY” code dates and the plant code LD which indicates the product was produced at Lodi, California:

 

Cheerios-Recall-Lot-Numbers

 

Products containing wheat can cause illness or severe reactions for individuals with wheat allergies or celiac disease.  Products containing wheat can also cause illness or discomfort for individuals with gluten intolerance.

 

General Mills is transitioning five varieties of Cheerios to gluten free. Cheerios and Honey Nut Cheerios cereals produced at General Mills’ other facilities, or on dates other than those noted at the Lodi, California facility, are not impacted. General Mills’ other gluten-free Cheerios varieties – including Apple Cinnamon Cheerios, Frosted Cheerios and MultiGrain Cheerios – are not impacted and are not being recalled. No other General Mills cereals are affected. 

 

Consumers requesting refunds or calling with further questions should contact General Mills Consumer Services at 1-800-775-8370. 

 

Media contact:
Tom Forsythe
763-764-6364
media.line@genmills.com

Attachments

Images (1)
  • Cheerios-Recall-Lot-Numbers

Add Comment

Comments (5)

Newest · Oldest · Popular
Jen posted:

@Aveline Are you still using General Mills?

Yes, but still not Cheerios. (In the Celiac community it seems like fewer than half will trust Cheerios to be safe)  Chex are a staple, although less frequently lately. The GF Chex are truly GF and made in a dedicated facility.

Do you use any GM?

A

How can General Mills still claim their Cheerios are safely GF if they didn't detect actual wheat in all of these batches??  They say that they carefully test...and that their new technology mechanically separates out wheat (and other gluten-containing grains). Pretty sure this proves they're not quite there yet... At least, for me it does.

 

I love GM - we've had nothing bad from their GF Chex. This was a big misstep - I wish they'd get outside verification.  I hope no one in this community was affected, as we all continue to be diligent for our children (and maybe ourselves)!

A
Kids With Food Allergies
A Division of the Asthma and Allergy Foundation of America
1235 South Clark Street Suite 305, Arlington, VA 22202
Phone: 1-800-7-ASTHMA (1.800.727.8462)
-->
×
×
×
×
Link copied to your clipboard.
×