Updated! Allergy-Friendly Easter Candy Guide for 2016

 

Here it is - your 2016 Easter candy list for food allergy-friendly sweets! If you are filling baskets for your little ones, use this list as a shopping guide. Please remember to read all labels and make sure the product is right for your family.

This year's guide is made possible by TruJoy Sweets and Surf Sweets.

New this Easter:

TruJoy Sweets' organic bunny lollipops in three fun flavors - lemon, watermelon and strawberry. They also make fruit chews and Choco Chews. They are also USDA Organic certified and NonGMO Project verified, vegan and kosher. 

Surf Sweets features organically sweetened gummies with fresh fruit flavor. Check out fruit rings and jelly beans (including a Spring Mix). Vegan varieties available. 

surf-sweets-easter-basket
Learn more about Surf Sweets [ad]


Read on for more choices, including new additions to this year's list. We've organized the list by allergen. Click on the category you need.

 

FREE OF TOP 8 ALLERGENS (MILK, EGG, SOY, PEANUT, TREE NUTS, WHEAT, FISH, SHELLFISH)

Amore di Mona Chocolates: Non-GMO European chocolate and caramels free of dairy, egg, soy, gluten, tree nuts and peanuts. Varieties include cherries, currants, cranberries and coffee beans. Bulk chocolate and gift boxes. (FAQ)

Amanda's Own: Chocolate bunnies, candies, lollipops, jelly beans. Free of milk, peanut, tree nut, egg, gluten, sesame, and corn (except for jelly beans). The company's Sunflower Cups continue to have a warning label for possible traces of soy. When the current supply of SunButter is finished, they will clean their facility to remove any traces of the old product. (FAQ)

Enjoy Life Foods: Baking chocolate (mini chips, Mega Chunks, dark chocolate chips), boomCHOCOboom chocolate bars in dark chocolate, rice milk chocolate and rice milk crunch. (FAQ)

Just Born/Peeps: Peeps Bunnies, Peeps Chicks, Mike & Ikes. Some products may be free of top 8 allergens. Easter Peeps come in many flavors and some are exclusive to certain retail stores. Check labels for updated information. The company labels for any potential cross contact on original packaging. (FAQ)

Natural Candy Store: Online retailer for bunnies, jelly beans, chocolate for Easter eggs, baskets and baking decorations. Use the advanced search to find multiple top 8, corn and artificial dye-free options sourced from other companies. (FAQ)

No Cow Chocolate: (NEW) Bunnies, eggs and more. The company says all of their products are made in a dedicated facility free of dairy, gluten, soy, peanuts, tree nuts and eggs. (FAQ)

PASCHA: Chocolate bars, mini-bars and baking chips.  Fair trade, top 8-free and organic. (FAQ)

Righteously Raw Chocolate:  Chocolate bars and other treats. Available in variety packs, combo packs and gift baskets. Top 8-free and corn-free (contains coconut). Organic and non-GMO. (FAQ)

Spangler: Dum Dums Lollipops, Dum Dums Gummies, Saf-T-Pops, Circus Peanuts. Free of top 8 allergens, but most may have traces of soy oil. Spangler candies may be rebagged by other retailers; check the package to see if the product came from a Spangler facility. (FAQ)

St. Clairs Organics: Mints and fruit tarts. Free of top 8 allergens and corn. (FAQ)

Surf Sweets: Organically sweetened gummies (vegan varieties available), fruit rings and jelly beans (including a Spring Mix). Free of top 8 allergens, sesame, sulfites and artificial dyes. Made in cornstarch molds, may contain traces of corn. (FAQ)

YumEarth: Gluten-free licorice as well as sour beans, lollipops, gummies, candy drops, fruit snacks. The licorice is not free of wheat. The glucose syrup is derived from wheat that is processed to allow it to meet FDA gluten-free standards. The Fruit Snacks and Gummy Fruits (but not Gummy Bears) are made with wheat starch as a processing aid. The facilities that make the other candies are free of the top 8 allergens and sesame. Candy Drops are corn-free. (FAQ)

 

PEANUT-FREE AND TREE NUT-FREE

These items may contain coconut, which many people allergic to tree nuts can eat safely. Check with your allergist as to what is best for your child.

Amanda's Own: Chocolate bunnies, candies, lollipops, jelly beans. Free of milk, peanut, tree nut, egg, gluten, sesame, and corn (except for jelly beans). The company's Sunflower Cups continue to have a warning label for possible traces of soy. When the current supply of SunButter is finished, they will clean their facility to remove any traces of the old product. (FAQ)

Divvies: Chocolate bunnies, gummies, jelly beans, baking chips. Free of peanut, tree nuts, milk, egg and sesame. Some products may be free of additional allergens. (FAQ)

Dove Chocolate: Some chocolate bars free of peanuts and tree nuts. Verify the label with the company, especially on bunnies. (FAQ)

Gimbals: Jelly beans, fruit chews and more. Free of milk, egg, gluten, peanut, tree nuts and soy. (FAQ)

Goetze’s Candy(NEW) Caramel-wrapped cream candies made by the same company since 1895. Caramel Creams and Cow Tales are made in a dedicated, nut-free facility. (FAQ)

GoOrganic Candy and Hillside Sweets: Flavored candy chews and hard candy free of gluten, peanuts, tree nuts, egg, milk and soy. Processed on the same equipment as milk and soy. (FAQ)

Hershey's: Some chocolate candies free of peanuts and tree nuts. The company labels for top 8 allergens and cross contact. Hershey's does sell bunnies; contact the company directly to find out if they are peanut/tree nut-free. (FAQ)

Huey's Nut Free Chocolate: (NEW) Chocolate bunnies, cream eggs, lollipops and more. Free of peanut, tree nut, sesame and coconut. (FAQ)

Jelly Belly: The plants that make Jelly Belly jelly beans no longer process peanut. They still process almonds, walnuts, cashews and pecans. There is no gluten. The chocolate-covered candies contain milk. (FAQ)

Premium Chocolatiers: Chocolate bunnies, lollipops, truffles, chocolate eggs. Free of milk, egg, gluten, peanut and tree nuts. (FAQ)

Simply Nut Free Chocolates: (NEW) European-style chocolate. Easter selections include chocolate bunnies, eggs and lollipops. They also make candy-coated chocolate and pretzel bark. There are no eggs or sesame in the facility. Some products are gluten-free. (FAQ)

Sixlets: Candy-coated chocolate candies. Some are free of peanuts and tree nuts; others are free of egg. Read each label and contact the company to verify. (Product listing)

Skips: Chocolate bunnies, carrots, ducks and other sweets. The company has a peanut/tree nut facility in addition to their regular store. See the disclaimers on their products. (FAQ and Disclaimer)

Tootsie: Pops, Rolls, Dubble Bubble, etc. Candies are free of peanuts, tree nuts and gluten. (FAQ)

tru-joy-bunny-lollipops
Learn more about TruJoy Sweets [ad]



TruJoy Sweets: Organic bunny lollipops are nut-free and gluten-free. The candies are free of corn syrup, free of artificial colors and flavors, gluten-free, vegan and kosher. (FAQ)

Vermont Nut Free: Chocolate bunnies, lambs, marshmallows, buttercream bunnies, toffee crunch, pretzel caramel bark and Easter baskets. Some products may contain dairy, eggs, wheat or soy. All products are peanut, tree nut, sesame and coconut-free. (FAQ)

Also all products on the Free of Top 8 Allergens list.

 

MILK-FREE AND EGG-FREE

Amanda's Own: Chocolate bunnies, candies, lollipops, jelly beans. Free of milk, peanut, tree nuts, egg, gluten, sesame, and corn (except for jelly beans). The company's Sunflower Cups continue to have a warning label for possible traces of soy. When the current supply of SunButter is finished, they will clean their facility to remove any traces of the old product. (FAQ)

Divvies: Chocolate bunnies, gummies, jelly beans, baking chips. Free of peanut, tree nuts, milk, egg and sesame. Some products may be free of additional allergens. (FAQ)

eatingEVOLVED: (NEW) Gluten-free, peanut-free, dairy-free, soy-free chocolate bars in multiple flavors. They also make chocolate spreads and coconut butter cups in a variety of flavors. Some products contain almonds. All products are made on shared equipment with almonds. Check with your allergist as to what is safe for your child. (FAQ)

Gimbals: Jelly beans, fruit chews and more. Free of milk, egg, gluten, peanut, tree nuts and soy. (FAQ)

Moo Free: Chocolate eggs, bunnies and bars in various flavors. Free of milk, egg, wheat and gluten. May contain tree nuts and soy. UK-based company. Some products can be purchased online in the U.S. (FAQ)

Premium Chocolatiers: Chocolate bunnies, lollipops, truffles, chocolate eggs. Free of milk, egg, gluten, peanut and tree nuts. (FAQ)

Sweet William: Bunnies and bars. Free of milk, egg, gluten, peanut and tree nuts. May contain soy. Australian company; may also be available in parts of Europe, Asia and the Middle East, in stores or online. (FAQ)

Also all products on the Free of Top 8 Allergens list.

 

SOY-FREE

eatingEVOLVED: (NEW) Gluten-free, peanut-free, dairy-free, soy-free chocolate bars in multiple flavors. They also make chocolate spreads and coconut butter cups in a variety of flavors. Some products contain almonds. All products are made on shared equipment with almonds. Check with your allergist as to what is safe for your child. (FAQ)

Gimbals: Jelly beans, fruit chews and more. Free of milk, egg, gluten, peanut, tree nuts and soy. (FAQ)

Spangler: Dum Dums Lollipops, Dum Dums Gummies, Saf-T-Pops, Circus Peanuts. Free of top 8 allergens, but most may have traces of soy oil. Spangler candies may be rebagged by other retailers; check the package to see if the product came from a Spangler facility. (FAQ)

Also all products on the Free of Top 8 Allergens list.

 

WHEAT-FREE AND GLUTEN-FREE

Amanda's Own: Chocolate bunnies, candies, lollipops, jelly beans. Free of milk, peanut, tree nuts, egg, gluten, sesame, and corn (except for jelly beans). The company's Sunflower Cups continue to have a warning label for possible traces of soy. When the current supply of SunButter is finished, they will clean their facility to remove any traces of the old product. (FAQ)

Gimbals: Jelly beans, fruit chews and more. Free of milk, egg, gluten, peanut, tree nuts and soy. (FAQ)

GoOrganic Candy and Hillside Sweets: Flavored candy chews and hard candy free of gluten, peanut, tree nuts, egg, milk and soy. Processed on same equipment as milk and soy. (FAQ)

Moo Free: Chocolate eggs, bunnies and bars in various flavors. Free of milk, egg, wheat and gluten. May contain tree nuts and soy. UK-based company. Some products can be purchased online in the U.S. (FAQ)

Premium Chocolatiers: Chocolate Bunnies, Lollipops, Truffles, Chocolate Eggs. Free of milk, egg, gluten, peanut and tree nuts. (FAQ)

Tootsie: Pops, Rolls, Dubble Bubble, etc. Candies are free of peanut, tree nuts and gluten. (FAQ)

TruJoy Sweets: Organic bunny lollipops, Fruit Chews, and new Choco Chews. These candies are all gluten-free. The Fruit Chews and Choco Chews are formulated free of the top 8 allergens, but made on shared equipment that processes peanuts, tree nuts, dairy and soy. The Organic Bunny Lollipops are made in a different facility and are peanut, tree nut and gluten free.  All the TruJoy Sweets candies are free of corn syrup, free of artificial colors and flavors, gluten free, vegan and kosher. (FAQ)

Also all products on the Free of Top 8 Allergens list that are free of wheat (and possibly gluten - check all labels).

 

CORN-FREE

Amanda's Own: Chocolate bunnies, candies, lollipops, jelly beans. Free of milk, peanut, tree nuts, egg, gluten, sesame, and corn (except for jelly beans). The company's Sunflower Cups continue to have a warning label for possible traces of soy. When the current supply of SunButter is finished, they will clean their facility to remove any traces of the old product. (FAQ)

Natural Candy Store: Online retailer for bunnies, jelly beans, chocolate for Easter eggs, baskets and baking decorations. Use the advanced search to find multiple top 8, corn and artificial dye-free options sourced from other companies. (FAQ)

St. Claire's Organics: Mints and fruit tarts. Free of top 8 allergens and corn. (FAQ)

TruJoy Sweets: Organic bunny lollipops and new Choco Chews are corn-free. Fruit Chews contain ascorbic acid that is derived from corn. The Fruit Chews and Choco Chews are formulated free of the top 8 allergens, but made on shared equipment that processes peanuts, tree nuts, dairy and soy. The Organic Bunny Lollipops are made in a different facility and are peanut, tree nut and gluten free.  All the TruJoy Sweets candies are free of corn syrup, free of artificial colors and flavors, gluten free, vegan and kosher. (FAQ)

YumEarth: Candy Drops are free of corn plus free of top 8 allergens, sesame and more. (FAQ)

 

INTERNATIONAL:

Moo Free: Chocolate eggs, bunnies and bars in various flavors. Free of milk, egg, wheat and gluten. May contain tree nuts and soy. UK-based company. Some products can be purchased online in the U.S. (FAQ)

Sweet William: Bunnies and bars. Free of milk, egg, gluten, peanut, tree nuts; may contain soy. Australian company; may also be available in parts of Europe, Asia and the Middle East, in stores or online. (FAQ)


This information is for your convenience only. It is not an endorsement or guarantee of the product's safety. Read every ingredient label and contact the manufacturer to confirm the safety of a product for your child. Labels may change from one product size to the next, or from one region of the country to the next. Some candies made by one company may be rebagged by another company; remember to check outer package labels as well.

 

Kids With Food Allergies thanks TruJoy Sweets and Surf Sweets for sponsoring this blog post.



Attachments

Photos (9)

Add Comment

Comments (9)

Newest · Oldest · Popular

We got some clarification from YumEarth regarding wheat starch used as a processing aid on Fruit Snacks and Gummy Snacks:

YumEarth Fruit Snacks and YumEarth Gummy Fruits (not Gummy Bears or other YumEarth items) have been made with wheat starch as a processing aid in the past, but have never been part of the end product, the actual Fruit Snacks and Gummy Fruits. In an effort to be ultra-transparent even with a processing aid that gets washed off the product, we included information about the wheat starch on the label. Please also note that the product is certified as gluten free by GFCO and we frequently test for gluten as well.

That being said, we have gotten feedback that indicates that the gluten free certification of this product by the foremost gluten-free certification agency does not alleviate all people's concerns and knowing the starch gets washed off and is not part of the product also does not alleviate all people's concerns, so we are exploring an alternative starch. We appreciate and respect our customers, and as a celiac myself, I hear you loud and clear and thank all of you for your tireless effort across almost 11 years to help guide us through your concerns and your ingredient needs. Sergio and I founded this company to do good and your effort helps us do that. I sincerely thank you again.

rob
co-founder

Thanks for the heads up on the wheat starch. I know I just looked at the gummy bears and they had rice syrup. The new licorice definitely has the wheat starch derived glucose syrup. I found some info on their FB page that says only the licorice has the wheat based glucose and wheat starch is used as a "processing aid" in the molds for the fruit snacks but that it's "washed away." I can't find if that is new or just revised advisory labeling. I'll let you know what they say.

Just got a bag of Yum Earth fruit snacks - contain Wheat Starch now (still "gluten free" but our allergist says not safe for our wheat allergic child) and looked at comments on their FB page and it seems wheat starch has been added to other candies in their line, and wheat syrup to their lollipops - all since the end of February. 

HERSHEY HAS MADE SOME NUT PRODUCTION CHANGES.  Their chocolate crosses are now at risk for almond cross contamination.  This was a HUGE disappointment for us because that cross has been the centerpiece of the kids baskets for years.  The break apart bunny is not made near nuts, but costs 75% more, is ugly, and has only 0.2 oz more candy.  I emailed the company and let them know (politely) how disappointed I was.  I also reminded them that allergic families are GREAT ADVERTISERS.  When we love a brand we promote it.  I also asked them to consider moving all their candies that don't use nuts to a nut free production.  It drives me nuts that one size of plain chocolate is ok, but another size or wrapper type isn't.

Let these companies hear our voices!

RW

 

 

The jelly beans on this post look to me to be "Brachs Jelly Bird Eggs" (which have CC labeling that put them on our :not safe: list -- and thank you, Brachs, for labeling to allow consumers the ability to make safe choices, even if it means we don't buy your products).  Is this just a stock photo of Easter candy or is this a allergen friendly option?!?  Both Gimbals & Starburst beans are great, yummy options for my tree-nut allergic kid, but I'd love to find a "classic" jelly bean, too.

×
×
×
×